CROSSROADS Driving School

PROGRAMS

Crossroads Curriculum Overview:

 

At Crossroads, it is our mission to provide students (and parents) with the best possible educational experience. Our classes are taught by CT certified instructors. You will have the same classroom and behind the wheel instructor throughout the course.

To meet our commitment, we offer the following course packages:

 

On-site Testing
 
  • $85

  • A DMV Inspector will administer the on road portion of the license test.

  • Use of a Crossroads Driving School car is provided.

  • Road tests are available at 311 Saybrook Road, Higganum.

  • Please check the schedule section of our website for testing dates.

 
The 8 Hour Safe Driving, Drug, & Alcohol Course:

 

  • $150.

  • Includes the State of Connecticut mandated information for all new drivers.

 

The 30 Hour Classroom Only Course:

 

  • $290

  • 30 hours of classroom instruction, including the mandatory 8 Hour Safe Driving, Drug & Alcohol course.

 
The 38 Hour Course:

 

  • $550 (HKHS $555)

  • 30 hours of classroom instruction, including the mandatory 8 Hour Safe Driving, Drug & Alcohol course.

  • 8 hours of behind the wheel instruction (driving sessions will be scheduled by the instructor).

  • Extra one-on-one lessons - $75/hour

 

38 Hour Course Overview & Description

Successful completion of this curriculum will prepare students to be responsible drivers on local roads and state highways. The classroom and on-the-road driver education standards outlined within this curriculum will focus on safe driving standards, attitudes, laws, response to hazards and the challenging driving environment. The curriculum totals 30 hours of classroom instruction, including a final written test to ensure competency and a full understanding of the rules of the road. There are a total of 15 lessons, each lasting 2 hours. The curriculum has been designed to follow the textbook "Drive Right” Prentice Hall, Up-dated Tenth Edition. The curriculum also references the State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Driver's Manual. Throughout the course, students will be assigned videos to view, websites to review and other reading materials to augment their learning experience. Crossroads Driving School will also sponsor guest speakers when appropriate to complement the lesson plan.

 

Requirements

As per the laws of the State of Connecticut, students must be at least sixteen years of age prior to their first class and must have a permit to participate in behind the wheel instruction.

 

Attendance

Students must attend all fifteen classes. If a student misses a class they can make the class up at either location. Please refer to our classroom schedule.

 

Student Conduct

If a student disrupts the class, the instructor will attempt changing his or her seat and make an effort to involve the individual in a discussion of the material at hand. If this does not work or a more serious offense should occur, the student will be expelled from the classroom. NO REFUNDS WILL BE GIVEN.

 

Special Needs

Any student who is mentally or physically challenged, or if the parent expresses a concern when it comes to keeping pace with the course, will be afforded special care and/or extra study materials if necessary. All efforts will be made to present the course in a way that students will understand.

 

Progress

A test will be given at the end of the course to measure the progress of each student. If a student receives a grade of 80% or less, he or she will be asked to retake the test before a certificate can be issued.

 

Behind the Wheel Training

Students will be given a driving schedule at least two weeks in advance before the schedule will start. This schedule will take into consideration school, work, sports, etc. If a student needs to change an appointment, he or she should call ahead so that the session can be exchanged with another student.

 

Transportation for Behind the Wheel Training

Students will be picked up either at Lyman Hall, Sheehan High School, Haddam-Killingworth High School, Valley Regional High School, North Haven High School, or at their homes (whichever is more convenient). Parents must be aware that their son/daughter will be driven home by the previous student if the instructor feels it is safe to do so. If not, the instructor will pick up the next student.

 

Please note - for all courses:

  • The student must be 16 years old to start the class, but my start mid-session and complete in the next session.

  • A permit is required to participate in behind the wheel instruction BUT is not needed to start the course.

  • Most insurance companies will offer a discount for students that complete the 38 Hour Course (please check with your insurance company).